OSDN Git Service

realtek: do not reset SerDes on link change
authorBirger Koblitz <git@birger-koblitz.de>
Sun, 24 Apr 2022 20:01:31 +0000 (22:01 +0200)
committerSander Vanheule <sander@svanheule.net>
Wed, 11 May 2022 20:23:50 +0000 (22:23 +0200)
commitd1b824650f1ee694ec2dbdd2f4f9ec64e650cf86
treeaf9bbb14eecb79c7b15fa2a3d814e177a89f04f1
parentd9a063c3967c72773616cf5eadd4f978b9724c50
realtek: do not reset SerDes on link change

Do not reset the RTL930x SerDes on link changes, instead set up
the SDS with internal PHYs for the SFP+ ports only.
This fixes the 8 1GBit ports on the Zyxel XGS1250 which
do not work without this patch.

A complete SerDes reset was performed on all SerDes links. For copper
1Gbit ports, this is commonly a single XGMII link to an RTL8218D. There
is however no support for setting up the XGMII link on RTL9300/RTL9310,
thereby wiping the (RX/TX) setup done by u-boot and breaking the 1GBit
ports. No SerDes reset should be done for these links.

The handling of SGMII/HiSGMII, 1000BX or 10GR links is actually entirely
different. All these modes need to be suitably RX calibrated and the
pre- main and post- amplifiers set up properly for TX.

The 10GBit SFP+ fiber links are recalibrated instead of reset, which
e.g. is necessary when someone pulls a module out and puts another in.
This makes swapping out 10GBit fiber modules possible. 1GBit modules are
not yet supported, nor any modules with an internal phy.

Tested-by: Stijn Segers <foss@volatilesystems.org>
Signed-off-by: Birger Koblitz <git@birger-koblitz.de>
[rewrite commit message based on discussion]
Link: http://lists.infradead.org/pipermail/openwrt-devel/2022-May/038623.html
Signed-off-by: Sander Vanheule <sander@svanheule.net>
target/linux/realtek/files-5.10/drivers/net/dsa/rtl83xx/dsa.c
target/linux/realtek/files-5.10/drivers/net/dsa/rtl83xx/rtl83xx.h